Digital Transformation : A war between IT and Marketing ?

Usually, the digital transformation is a matter of customer experience: it takes digital for the customer and the digital can generate more revenue whether through direct sales channels or by offering additional value to customers (CRM & omincanal challenges: self-care, online assistance, customer journey, digital in store …). The the formation of the IT - Marketing or CMO - CTO couple thus becomes a necessity for carrying out digital transformation projects. Nevertheless, this is a very tumultuous couple and it is not always easy to align the perception of objectives between IT business units, which focus on purely technical issues, and those of marketing that essentially reason in terms of channels, customer experience, revenue, time-to-market …

Often, therefore, we find ourselves in a situation of continual “putsch”, a “leadership battle” for the ownership of the digital transformation projects. Things get more complicated in organizations where IT is considered a cost center and marketing as a profit center. So we are facing a real organizational problem and, from there to say that it poses a major obstacle to digitization, there is only one step to take, that of replacing the conflict with a close collaboration between the two entities.

In the absence of a strong partnership between IT and Marketing, the dynamics of digital transformation can be reduced to a few scattered projects that meet the needs of the moment. Result of the races: the absence of a medium-to-long term digital strategy, the misalignment between customer expectations and digital channels, the inability to innovate and produce differentiating factors, the impossibility of improving customers insights via Big Data (…). All this prevents the organization from completing its digital transformation and building competitive advantages based on digital.

Of course, these remarks must be put into perspective because we find in several structures a partnership and an efficient collaboration between IT and Marketing. Nevertheless, the risks of overflows remain here even latent because this collaboration rests on a fragile balance and often on the good will of a handful of Men. However, we are used to relying on organizational coordination mechanisms and well-established processes, which must not have any areas of uncertainty.

What are the main organizational changes that should accompany the dynamics of digital transformation?

1. The chief digital officer (CDO): the superhero of digital transformation

Prodigal child of the Digital, the CDO will come to break the silos in the Marketing and the IT thus allowing to establish the digital strategy of the company with roadmaps, operational action plans, KPIs… and all that s follows.

Basically and in terms of governance, this newcomer will have the mission of infusing the digital culture within the organization and to accompany the change of management modes. This is why it is generally placed in technostructure.

CDO flowchart

Multi-hats, the chief digital officer, masters digital marketing at the fingertips, he has proven business skills and strong foundations in IT. Nevertheless, beyond these technical aspects, he is a leader who is able to ensure change management, a necessary condition for the success of digital transformation.

An excellent communicator, he easily manages to use his experience and his “Swiss army knife” of skills to coordinate between marketing, technical and business teams.

2. The development of transversal skills

To succeed in digitization, the emergence of advanced skills appears as a necessary condition for the mastery of digital transformation projects that incorporate many facets: technology, business, design, customer experience …

The development of multidisciplinary skills related to different digital issues should lead to the emergence of “all-terrain” specialists integrated into “digital transformation cells” within the various business units that drive digitization processes.

Given the role of these units, project-mode operation and the autonomy needed to carry out innovation projects, the role of the PMO (Project Management Office) is crucial for controlling the different operational aspects of projects: costs, planning, risks, deadlines … PMO would therefore benefit from being strengthened and becoming more anchored in the precepts of Agile management.

3. Agility: a must have for digital transformation

The digital transformation requires an acceleration of all-round processes and a time-to-market at the earliest in order to always stay one step ahead; all with the ability to “digest” changes at any point in the project or product lifecycle.

This new situation highlights the need to profoundly change conventional working methods and places agility as the gateway to digital transformation.

Methods such as Scrum Agile, DevOps or Lean UX help meet the new challenges of digital transformation. Nevertheless, each method must be used in its proper context and taking into account the specificities of the concerned trade. When DevOps will prove to be of formidable efficiency for IT development teams; On the other hand, we will be satisfied with an agile in house (adhoc) method for the Marketing teams and which takes up the fundamentals of the Scrum Agile, for example, with the adaptations necessary for the marketing profession.

In short, it is necessary to have an approach adapted to the organization and modus operandi of each business unit; and, above all, do not do “agility for agility” at the risk of falling through methodological abuses that will be disruptive to the organization as a whole.

In charge of managing the implementation of Agility within the organization, the CDO can use external support to give impetus, introduce its employees to Agile management methods and evangelize everyone to customer centricity, touchstone of Agile principles.

Agile scheme

For a good change management and a reasonable control of the risk, it is recommended to introduce the agility progressively (for example: 25% of the objective per quarter) with periodic retrospective management reviews in order to evaluate the achievements and correct the shot, if necessary.

Finally, it must be remembered that digital transformation is a global process that affects all the components of an organization. And, throughout our small analysis, we focused on Marketing and IT, usually dominating entities in the digital transformation dynamic of companies. We donated voluntarily to other business units, including human resources. Nevertheless, we must not forget that digital transformation is an inside-out dynamic (internal / external) and that HR must also position itself as a leading player in the digitization dynamic.

At the rate where we see things going on the international scene, the HRs are increasing every day their involvement and, even, their influence on the digital transformation process. Legitimizing their key role in the digital transformation through their knowledge of the core-business of the company and their long-medium-term vision, HR is driving more and more digital transformation projects whose scope often exceeds their direction for s’ extend to the entire organization. Would we be facing a new pretender to the throne of digitization? Or, more seriously, the emergence of a holy trinity of digital transformation: IT - Marketing - HR?

Case to follow.

Transformation Digitale : une guerre IT vs Marketing ?

Le plus souvent, la transformation digitale est une affaire d’expérience client : il faut du digital pour le client et le numérique permet de générer davantage de revenus que ce soit par les canaux directs de vente ou bien en offrant une valeur ajoutée additionnelle aux clients (enjeux CRM & omincanal : self-care, assistance en ligne, parcours clients, digital in store…). La formation du couple IT (DSI) – Marketing ou CMO – CTO devient ainsi une évidence et une nécessité pour mener à bien les projets de transformation digitale. Néanmoins, il s’agit d’un couple fort tumultueux et il n’est pas toujours évident d’aligner la perception des objectifs entre les business units I:T qui se focalisent sur des enjeux purement techniques et celles du marketing qui raisonnent essentiellement en termes de canaux, expérience client, revenus, time-to-market…

Souvent, donc, on se retrouve dans une situation de « putsch » continuel, une « leadership battle » pour l’ownership des projets de transformation digitale. Les choses se compliquent davantage dans des organisations où l’IT est considéré comme un centre de coûts et le marketing comme un centre de profits. On fait donc face à une vraie problématique organisationnelle et, de là à dire qu’elle pose un frein majeur à la digitalisation, il n’y a qu’un pas à franchir, celui de substituer le conflit à une étroite collaboration entre les deux entités.

En l’absence d’un partenariat solide entre l’IT et le Marketing, la dynamique de transformation digitale risque de se résumer à quelques projets épars qui répondent aux besoins du moment. Résultat des courses : l’absence d’une stratégie digitale à moyen-long terme, le mésalignement entre les attentes des clients et les canaux digitaux, l’incapacité à innover et à produire des facteurs de différenciation, l’impossibilité d’améliorer les customers insights via le Big Data (…). Tout cela empêche l’organisation de mener à terme sa transformation digitale et de bâtir des avantages concurrentiels basés sur le numérique.

Bien entendu, ces propos doivent être relativisés car on retrouve dans plusieurs structures un partenariat et une collaboration efficiente entre l’IT et le Marketing. Néanmoins, les risques de débordements restent ici même latents car cette collaboration repose sur un équilibre fragile et souvent sur la bonne volonté d’une poignée d’Hommes. Or, on a l’habitude de compter sur des mécanismes de coordination organisationnels et des processus bien établis, qui ne doivent présenter aucune zone de flou.

Quelles sont donc les principales mutations organisationnelles qui devraient accompagner la dynamique de transformation digitale ?

1. Le CDO (chief digital officer) : le super-héros de la transformation digitale

Enfant prodigue du Digital, le CDO va venir briser les silos en le Marketing et l’IT permettant ainsi d’instituer la stratégie digitale de l’entreprise avec les roadmaps, plans d’actions opérationnels, KPIs de suivi…et tout ce qui s’en suit.

Sur le fond et en termes de gouvernance, ce nouveau venu aura pour mission d’insuffler la culture digitale au sein de l’organisation et d’accompagner le changement des modes de management. C’est pour cela qu’il est généralement placé en technostructure.

CDO organigramme

Multi-casquettes, le chief digital officer, maîtrise le marketing digital sur les bouts des doigts, il possède des compétences métier confirmées et de solides fondations en IT. Néanmoins, au-delà de ces aspects techniques, c’est un leader de premier plan qui assure la conduite du changement, condition nécessaire à la réussite de la transformation digitale.

Excellent communicateur, il parvient aisément à mettre à profit son expérience et son « couteau-suisse » de compétences pour coordonner entre les équipes marketing, techniques et métier.

2. Le développement de compétences transversales

Pour réussir la digitalisation, l’émergence de compétences de pointe apparait comme une condition nécessaire pour la maitrise des projets de transformation digitale qui incorporent plusieurs facettes : technologie, business, design, expérience client…

Le développement des compétences pluridisciplinaires liées aux différentes problématiques du digital doit déboucher sur l’émergence de spécialistes « tout terrain » intégrés en « cellules de transformation digitale » au sein des différentes business units qui pilotent les processus de digitalisation.

Compte tenu des attributions de ces cellules, du fonctionnement en mode projet et de l’autonomie nécessaire pour mener les projets d’innovation, le rôle du PMO (Project Management Office) est crucial pour la maitrise des différents aspects opérationnels des projets : coûts, planification, risques, deadlines…Le PMO gagnerait donc à être renforcé et à s’ancrer davantage dans les préceptes du management Agile.

3. L’Agilité : un « must have » pour la transformation digitale

La transformation digitale impose une accélération des processus tout azimut et un time-to-market au plus tôt afin de toujours garder une longueur d’avance ; tout cela avec la capacité de « digérer » les changements à n’importe quel moment du cycle de vie du projet ou du produit.

Cette nouvelle donne relève la nécessité de changer profondément les méthodes de travail conventionnelles et pose l’Agilité comme la porte d’entrée de la transformation digitale.

Des méthodes comme le Scrum Agile, DevOps ou le Lean UX permettent de relever les nouveaux défis de la transformation digitale. Néanmoins, chaque méthode doit être utilisée dans son contexte approprié et en prenant en considération les spécificités du corps de métier concerné. Quand le DevOps s’avérera être d’une efficience redoutable pour les équipes de développement IT ; on pourra se contenter, par contre, d’une méthode agile in house (adhoc) pour les équipes Marketing et qui reprend les fondamentaux du Scrum Agile, par exemple, avec les adaptations nécessaires au métier du marketing.

En somme, il convient d’avoir une démarche adaptée à l’organisation et au modus operandi de chaque business unit ; et, par-dessus tout ne pas faire « de l’agilité pour l’agilité » au risque de tomber les travers d’abus méthodologiques qui seront perturbants pour l’organisation dans sa globalité.

Chargé du pilotage de l’implémentation de l’Agilité au sein de l’organisation, le CDO peut avoir recours à un accompagnement extérieur pour donner l’impulsion, initier ses collaborateurs au méthodes de management Agile et évangéliser tout un chacun à l’orientation client, pierre de touche des principes Agile.

Agile scheme

Pour une bonne conduite du changement et une maitrise raisonnable du risque, il est recommandé d’introduire l’agilité progressivement (par exemple : 25% de l’objectif par trimestre) avec des revues de management rétrospectives périodiques afin d’évaluer les acquis et de corriger le tir, si nécessaire.

Enfin, il faut rappeler que la transformation digitale est un processus global qui touche toutes les composantes d’une organisation. Et, tout au long de notre petite analyse, nous nous sommes concentré sur le Marketing et l’IT, entités habituellement prépondérantes dans la dynamique de transformation digitale des entreprises. Nous avons dons occulté volontairement d’autres business units, notamment les ressources humaines. Néanmoins, il ne faut pas oublier que la transformation digitale est une dynamique inside-out (interne / externe) et que les RH doivent également se positionner comme un acteur de premier plan au sein de la dynamique de digitalisation.

Au rythme où on voit les choses aller à l’international, les DRH sont en train d’accroître chaque jour leur implication et, voire même, leur influence sur les processus de transformation digitale. Légitimant leur rôle clé dans la transformation digitale par leur connaissance du core-business de l’entreprise et leur vision à long-moyen terme, les RH impulsent de plus en plus de projets de transformation digitale dont le scope dépasse souvent leur direction pour s’étendre à toute l’organisation. Serait-on face à un nouveau prétendant au trône de la digitalisation ? Ou plus sérieusement à l’émergence d’une sainte trinité de la transformation digitale : IT – Marketing – RH ?

Affaire à suivre.

Ce qu’on peut dire c’est que les jeunes aujourd’hui, et un partout à travers le monde, préfèrent travailler pour des Apple, Facebook, Google ou parfois même des startups naissantes mais ambitieuses. Partant de cela, les DRH des grandes entreprises ont tout intérêt à dépoussiérer leurs directions et à embrasser la transformation digitale.